Our Infrastructure

Infrastructure

We constantly extend our infrastructure to give you the highest reliability and ensure the best performance.

We love SSD! All of our hosting plans run on super fast Intel SSD DC Series - the enterprise grade SSDs from Intel, which have performed great in all tests. These SSDs offer 84,000 IOPS with read access speeds of 500 MB/s and write access speeds of 460 MB/s. In combination with the new SAS2 controllers we reach one of the best I/O performance currently available on the market.
We employ high-end enterprise grade hardware for all of our servers and take care that they are never overloaded.

Onlime Webhosting gives your web application wings and lets it fly high!

Data Center

We operate our servers in the data center of METANET in Zurich, Switzerland. METANET has been proven as an extremely reliable housing partner. METANET provides us a fully redundant network and – as a RIPE-member under AS21069 – operates its own multi-10-gigabit-network.

Upon failure of a Cisco router the whole traffic is within a very short time completely taken over by the other; the same applies to the backbone connections. Additionally, METANET has direct connections to Cablecom, SWITCH, Google, and more than 30 other Swiss internet and content providers to provide their customers with the best access times. The remaining traffic runs over the two upstreams Interoute and Level3.

We operate our backup server infrastructure in the data center of the Nine, also located in Zurich. The infrastructure is installed in our own lockable quarter-rack in a highly secured colocation.

100% Switzerland! All servers are located in Switzerland, without exception.

Green IT

Onlime exclusively draws "naturemade star"-certified green electricity from EWZ (Elektrizitätswerke der Stadt Zürich). By choosing ewz.ökopower Onlime promotes the renewal and the construction of hydroelectric power plants to the highest ecological criteria. Also, the purchase of ewz.ökopower promotes the construction of additional solar power plants.

We operate our servers in the data centers of METANET and Nine. While METANET guarantees us green energy in the form of an eco-certificate, at Nine we choose the option "Ökopower" plus "Climate neutral operation" for entire compensation of CO2 emissions.

We also support Solarspar and ewz.solarzüri. Since 2014 we took a share in the construction and operation of a photovoltaic (PV) system on top of the school building Buchlern in Zurich.

While expanding our infrastructure and with each new server purchase we pay close attention to energy efficiency. We only use power supplies with 80plus Platinum (> 94%) certification and prefer components of the "efficient-line" of our main supplier Thomas-Krenn.

Our Server Configuration

To be honest, we don't have to hide our system configuration. For the tech guys among you - This is the current specification of our web server:

Model 1HE Intel Dual-CPU SuperMicro RI2104
CPU 2x Intel Xeon E5-2690v4 14-Core 2,6GHz 30MB 9.6GT/s
Memory 256 GB 2400MHz LRDIMM DDR4 ECC Reg QuadRank x4 CL17
Disk RAID-10, 4 x 1.6TB Intel SSD DC S3610
Network 1 Gbit/s redundant
  • RAID

    All SSDs run in a RAID-1 respectively RAID-10 mirroring setup. If one SSD fails, the server continues to run undisturbed and the defective SSD can hot-swapped.
  • Failover

    For each physical production server, we run an additional fallback server with similar hardware equipment, which in an emergency situation can take over at any time. For replication, we use ZFS snapshots.
  • Off-site Backup

    Our backup servers are operated in the colocation at Nine in Zurich. We create nightly full-system backups including all customer data, regardless of the hosting plan.
  • Offline Backup

    In addition to the off-site backups we transfer all data to encrypted external drives on a weekly basis. These drives are stored each physically disconnected (offline).
  • Encryption

    All data transfers, both inside the internal network of Onlime Webhosting and to our external datacenter (off-site backup) is secured by encrypted connections.

Unsere Infrastruktur

Infrastruktur

Wir bauen unsere Infrastruktur laufend aus, um Ihnen höchste Ausfallsicherheit und beste Performance zu gewährleisten.

Wir schwören auf SSD! Sämtliche Web-Abos laufen auf den superschnellen Intel SSD DC Series - den "enterprise grade" SSDs von Intel, welche in sämtlichen Test überdurchnittlich gut abgeschnitten haben. Diese SSDs bieten 84'000 IOPS bei einem Lesezugriff von 500 MB/s und einem Schreibzugriff von 460 MB/s. In Kombination mit den neuen SAS2-Controllern erreichen wir die momentan wohl beste I/O-Performance, welche es auf dem Markt gibt.
Wir setzen durch's Band nur Highend-Hardware ein und kümmern uns darum, dass unsere Server bei weitem nicht ausgelastet, geschweige denn je überlastet sind.

Onlime Webhosting lässt Ihre Webapplikationen abheben!

Datacenter

Wir betreiben unsere Server im Datacenter der Firma METANET in Zürich, Schweiz. METANET hat sich als äusserst zuverlässigen Anbieter erwiesen. Bzgl. Netzwerk-Anbindung verfügt METANET über vollständige Redundanz und betreibt als RIPE-Mitglied unter AS21069 ein eigenes Multi-10-Gigabit-Netzwerk.

Beim Ausfall eines Cisco-Routers wird der zu verarbeitende Datenverkehr innert kürzester Zeit vom anderen komplett übernommen; dasselbe gilt für die Backbone-Verbindungen. Daneben verfügt METANET über Direktverbindungen zu Cablecom, SWITCH, Google und über 30 weiteren in der Schweiz tätigen Internet und Content Providers, um deren Kunden optimale Zugriffszeiten zu ermöglichen. Der restliche Verkehr läuft über die beiden Upstreams Interoute und Level3.

Unsere Backup-Server-Infrastruktur betreiben wir im Datacenter der Firma Nine, ebenfalls mit Standort Zürich. Wir betreiben einen eigenen abschliessbaren Quarter-Rack in der mit strengsten Sicherheitsvorkehrungen versehenen Colocation.

100% Standort Schweiz! Sämtliche Server befinden sich in der Schweiz, ohne Ausnahme.

Green IT

Onlime bezieht ausschliesslich "naturemade star"-zertifizierten Ökostrom der Elektrizitätswerke der Stadt Zürich. Mit der Wahl von ewz.ökopower fördert Onlime die Erneuerung sowie den Bau von Wasserkraftwerken nach höchsten ökologischen Kriterien. Ebenso fördert der Kauf von ewz.ökopower den Bau weiterer Solarstromanlagen.

Unsere Server betreiben wir in den Rechenzentren von METANET und Nine. Während METANET uns Ökostrom in Form eines Ökostrom-Zertifikats garantiert, wählen wir bei Nine die Option "Ökopower" plus "Klimaneutraler Betrieb" zur vollumfängliche Kompensation der CO2-Emissionen.

Ausserdem unterstützen wir Solarspar und ewz.solarzüri. Wir beteiligen uns seit 2014 am Bau und Betrieb einer Photovoltaik-Anlage (PV-Anlage) auf dem Schulhaus Buchlern in Zürich.

Beim Ausbau unserer Infrastruktur und bei jeder Server-Neuanschaffungen achten wir stark auf die Energieeffizienz. Wir verwenden nur Netzteile mit Gütesiegel 80plus Platinum (> 94%) und bevorzugen Bauteile der "efficient-line" unseres Hauptlieferanten Thomas-Krenn.

Ausstattung Server

Und jetzt mal im Klartext, für die Techies unter euch - So sieht die aktuelle Spezifikation unserer Webserver aus:

Modell 1HE Intel Dual-CPU SuperMicro RI2104
Prozessor 2x Intel Xeon E5-2650v4 12-Core 2,2GHz 30MB 9.6GT/s
Arbeitsspeicher 256 GB 2400MHz LRDIMM DDR4 ECC Reg QuadRank x4 CL17
Disk RAID-10, 4 x 1.6TB Intel SSD DC S3610
Netzwerk 1 Gbit/s redundant
  • RAID

    Sämtliche SSDs werden mit RAID-1 resp. RAID-10 gespiegelt. Fällt eine SSD aus, läuft der Server ungestört weiter und die defekte SSD wird im laufenden Betrieb ausgetauscht.
  • Failover

    Wir betreiben pro physischen Produktiv-Server jeweils einen zusätzlichen fallback-Server mit ähnlicher Hardware-Ausstattung, der im Notfall jederzeit einspringen kann. Für die Replizierung verwenden wir ZFS snapshots.
  • Off-site Backup

    Unsere Backup-Server betreiben wir in der Colocation bei Nine, Standort Zürich. Wir erstellen nächtliche Full-System-Backups inkl. sämtlicher Kundendaten, unabhängig vom jeweiligen Web Abo.
  • Offline Backup

    Zusätzlich zum off-site Backup legen wir sämtliche Daten wöchentlich auf verschlüsselten externe Drives ab. Diese werden jeweils physisch getrennt (offline) gelagert.
  • Verschlüsselung

    Sämtlicher Datenaustausch, sowohl im internen Netz von Onlime Webhosting als auch ins externe Datacenter (off-site Backup) erfolgt über verschlüsselte Verbindungen.